Yiquan is systematically structured so students can progress in clearly defined steps from learning how to unify the body to acquire whole-body strength, through to learning how to manipulate opponents and to fighting applications using the new way of moving that Yiquan encourages. The complete system consists of seven sections.


  • Standing postures (zhan zhaung) divide into health and combat    postures. Combat postures are used to develop strength sensing (mo li), this is unique to yiquan.


  • Strength testing (shi li) are simple slow

  • movements performed in a stationary position.


  • Friction  step (mo ca bu) combines

  • strength testing with controlled stepping.


  • Explosive energy (fa li) are fast movements to

  • issue power.


  • Pushing hands (tui shou) fixed and moving

  • step partner practice used to experience

  • sensitivity to another persons movement,

  • balance and  whole-body  strength.


  • Voice/breath testing (shi sheng) to unify all

  • parts of the body during the release of power.


  • Combat  practice (ji ji fa), the application of

  • all elements of yiquan in a freestyle sparring or fighting situation.

Brighton Yiquan Logo